top of page
  • Writer's pictureCenter for Local Policy Analysis (CLPA)

Fairfax County 2021 Redistricting Advisory Committee Appointed

Updated: Jul 6, 2021

On June 22nd the Fairfax Board of Governors appointed their 2021 Redistricting Advisory Committee. The Committee is tasked with recommending proposed new elections districts to the Board which will ultimately determine the new districts that will be adopted. As the country inches closer to the 2022 midterm elections the Committee will be essential in ensuring the elections are fair and are not gerrymandered. Gerrymandering, the practice utilized to create drawing districts that favor a particular political party or racial group. This practice not only skews election results but it leads many Americans to feel their voices don’t matter and affects political participation in the long term.

The committee was careful;;y chosen with its members serving as representatives of specific communities and districts. The Committee includes representatives from each of the nine currently existing Board of Supervisors' districts; representatives for the county at-large; representatives from African-American, Hispanic, Asian/Pacific Islander community and Arab-American communities; and representatives from the Federation of Citizens Associations; League of Women Voters; Northern Virginia Chamber of Commerce and Northern Virginia Labor Federation.

The new Committee members are:

  • Paul Berry, Chairman (At-Large)

  • Lisa Sales, At-Large

  • Bill Bouie, At-Large

  • Prashanth Rajan, Braddock District

  • Jimmy Bierman, Dranesville District

  • Richard Chew, Hunter Mill District

  • Bryon Garner, Lee District

  • Alis Wang, Mason District

  • Hon. Gerry Hyland, Mount Vernon District

  • Hon. Linda Smyth, Providence District

  • Paul Liberty, Springfield District

  • Sam Walker, Sully District

  • Tim Thompson, Fairfax County Federation of Citizens Associations

  • Anne Kanter, League of Women Voters

  • Karen Campblin, African-American Community

  • Maya Castillo, Hispanic Community

  • Silvia Patton, Asian/Pacific Islander Community

  • Saif Rahman, Arab-American Community

  • Scott Price, Northern Virginia Chamber of Commerce

  • George Becerra, Northern Virginia Labor Federation

For more information on the Committee visit the Fairfax County Government site.



bottom of page